Hawthorne Supply Co Celestial wholecloth quilt

A night sky quilt for Evelyn

Wholecloth quilt with scrappy binding and night sky fabric

Oh hey there!  So I finished something, and it’s only a year late, which is good.  It’s a wholecloth quilt for our god-daughter, who we don’t see as much as we’d like (they live quite a way away), so it’s lovely to make her something she’ll hopefully have for a while.   No full-length shots, as my house is a tip and everything outside is cold, damp and various shades of browny-grey.  It scrunches up nice though!

The fabrics are from Hawthorne Supply Co Celestial collection, I can’t remember whether the colour is Indigo or Midnight, but I did expect the blue to be slightly darker.  I can’t remember either whether it’s poplin or quilting cotton – it definitely feels like a poplin, but I really don’t know why I would have chosen that as they’re the same price…  it’s quite smooth and cool to the touch, not the most snuggly but it has improved with quilting.

I bought them last year, supposedly to make it for Christmas 2018, which clearly didn’t happen.  For some reason, I really dread starting to quilt my quilts, even though I don’t mind actually doing it.  I also got stung on import charges, as I couldn’t find the fabric in the UK so bought it from the US, so I was feeling a bit annoyed at it at the time.

Hawthorne Supply Co Celestial wholecloth quilt

Quilt Label with love

I’m afraid the photos are a bit blurry – I took them in a hurry the morning we were going to hand it over, having finished it the night before.  Nothing like a deadline!

I’ve used my favourite Baptist Fan quilting pattern, marked out with the super hi-tech blunt needle/length of card with holes in method.  It was a lot easier than the last time, as the fans are a lot bigger, meaning much less stop/start between each fan for marking.  It’s certainly more faff than straight lines, but I just love the movement it brings to the quilt.

Because there’s no piecing, I wanted to add a bit of variety with a scrappy binding.  This is the first time I’ve done this, and I couldn’t be happier with it!  It’s a mixture of Liberty and other scraps, and I think adds just the right amount of individuality to a quilt that could’ve verged on boring.  Binding is my absolute favourite part of quilt-making anyway, but I’m extra-happy with this!

Scrappy Liberty quilt binding

I added some ‘starry’ quotes to the back, just for another little detail, hope they don’t come out in the wash…

Night Sky quilt with quote labels

Well that’s me done for the year, I’m off work for a week after today which is lovely, though I don’t hold out much hope of actually doing any of the million jobs that need doing at home.  Maybe they’ll make a good New Year’s resolution file!  I am really close to finishing my girls’ Gypsy Wife quilt tops, and I’m going to treat myself and send them off for quilting, so they might be next on the blog.

Have a lovely Christmas, and wishing you and yours all the best for 2020.

X

Leave a comment