Closet Case Bombshell Bikini

Well, only bikini bottoms, but  as it turns out it’s possible to buy a perfectly adequate bikini top, thus saving myself from trying to make one a week before going on holiday.  So I did.

But the bottom half is all mine!  These are View C of Closet Case Patterns Bombshell swimsuit; high-waisted ruched bikini bottoms.  As you can see, I made them to go on our recent holiday to Crete, which was lovely.  Hot, sunny, quiet, seaside-y, villa-with-a-pool.  Basically just great.  As you can tell, I’m thrilled to be home…

I cut out 2 lots of fabric at once, so I could in theory make another pair right now, but now I’m back in Manchester the need for fancy bikini bottoms seems suddenly less urgent.  Plus, I’m not quite as thrilled with them as I was with the swimsuit I made with this pattern, which does make me feel like a genuine silver-screen bombshell.  I do feel I probably just suit a one-piece swimsuit better.

They are a good halfway house between bikini briefs and a full swimsuit – good for easing into beach season if you’re a bit conscious about ‘your stripy tummy’ as my children would say.  Having said that, I’m certainly getting gradually less bothered about my stripy tummy, and more concerned with my vitamin D intake.  Did I mention I live in Manchester?

I cut a size 12, the same as when I made my swimsuit, but these seem a bit more roomy.  I felt like I was conscious of having to pull up the ruching at the back so it didn’t sag, which isn’t a problem I have with my first version.

Still, they’re ok, and I’ll probably make up the other pair at some point, maybe with a bigger seam allowance to get a slightly snugger fit.  I used up almost the last of my black swim lycra for these, so am feeling very thrifty – I have some tiny scraps left which I’m saving to see if I can make a bikini top to go with my second pair of bottoms.  But with my rate of sewing at the moment, that might be a project for next summer…

Take care!

X

Leave a comment