Scrappy Kabuki Tee

Also finally getting round to experimenting with my actual camera…

Hey there! I hope 2021 isn’t getting you down too much already, though I realise that’s a pretty big ask… I’m suffering, as usual, from an extreme lack of sewing time, which is one of the reasons I love this top – in over 10 years of sewing, this is the first thing I’ve made (cut & sewed) from start to finish in one day. Everything about the design of Paper Theory’s Kabuki Tee is conducive to cranking it out smartish, which is A Good Thing, in my view.

Have not in any way got the hang of the camera settings yet…

I’m quite into this top, although I suspect it may be destined for gardening – it isn’t something that really goes with anything in outfit terms. I made it for the sake of making something, really, which isn’t something I do often at all. I have lots of plans for things to sew this year, and lots of lovely gift vouchers to treat myself to some special fabric, but I haven’t sewn anything for a while and I just wanted to get back in the saddle.

I always find re-fashions or scrap sewing particularly good for this, as there’s the extra challenge of making something work with limited materials, but the stakes are also low if I screw up. It’s the perfect mix!

I went through a few fabric combinations before I settled on these three. The main fabric is a handwoven cotton from a sack dress I wore to death when I was pregnant, the stripes are double gauze from a thrifted shirt, and the orange linen is the very, very last scraps of some Merchant & Mills linen I’ve sewn a dress and top from. I had such small scraps of the linen left that I had to piece the sleeve – it’s actually 3 pieces! I wasn’t sure if this would drape evenly, but it’s fine, and one of the seams is a right-angle inset which echoes the sleeves nicely. It’s not obvious, but I know it’s there…

I made a 14, which is the size that matches my measurements. I don’t have much to say about the construction, except, that it’s quick and easy. I reinforced the corners of the right-angle insets with a centimetre or so of topstitching – I think in a solid colour I might topstitch all the way around the sleevehead, but I thought it would detract from the clean contrast between the colours here. I didn’t dare leave the corners without some reinforcement though – you clip right into the seam allowance to make that angle, which always makes me a little nervous. Not that it’s a stress-point on this garment, but machine-washing can pull at any seam and it would be hard to fix if it gave out at that seam corner…

Also did not do anything with my hair

Oh, and I made masks from the scraps (scraps of scraps). I loathe making maks, but I’m also very good at losing them so I thought it would serve the dual purpose of really using all the fabric up, and reducing my stress about finding a mask every time I leave the house.

You’re welcome… this is the current state of my dining room.

Obviously maybe I haven’t given it quite a fair chance with the patchwork effect, but I can’t quite decide how much I love the pattern. I mean, I like it, but I don’t know if it’s a shape I feel great in. Maybe in the summer I’ll be more into it – with all the extra ease it’s not something you can really wear a jumper over, which might be what’s bugging me.

But yay, I sewed something, which is nice. I hope you’re getting lots of creative time in, and maybe I’ll see you back here soon!

X

Leave a comment