Scrappy Hexies

Just one of the slow-burning WIPs lurking around the house!  After I finished my Southern Sunset clamshell quilt, I still had quite a few scraps of the floral fabrics left over, because clamshells are a really awkward shape to cut, and I had cut them from quite small/oddly-shaped bits to start with.   One of the reasons I like that quilt so much is that I really love these prints, so I was anxious to get the most out of every scrap.

Paper-pieced floral hexagon quilt pieces

I just realised this photo is from August 2016…  I love vintage hexie quilts, so this was the obvious choice to make the most of the weird-shaped little scraps I had left.  I’ve made quite a few more by now, though I just do a few here and there so they’re mounting up slowly.  But slow sewing’s super-hot right now, so for once in my life I might actually be on-trend.

I’m itching to start stitching them together, but I think I need to wait until I know how many I have altogether, and plan the layout at that point.  I have a vague idea of what I want to do with them, but the overall number and colour distribution of the hexies will be the deciding factor in the design.

This is definitely one of those ‘enjoy the process’ projects!  While I do get a bit stressed about too many WIPs on the go, it is nice to have a slow-burner to come back to every so often.  And whilst this isn’t close to my longest WIP so far, I suspect it may take home first prize in the end.

Do you have a slowly-growing project in the works?  And more selfishly, do you have any good suggestions for hexie patterns?

Take care!

X

Leave a comment